The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) has implemented a graduated driver licensing (GDL) law in an effort to minimize the risks associated with first-time drivers on the road. According to the program all teen drivers must achieve certain milestones in order to obtain a driver’s license. These milestones are majorly based on age and experience.
You must be at least 15 years old for you to apply for a Florida learner’s permit; in addition, you must have completed the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course. To apply, visit your local FL DMV office with:
After providing the documents above, you will need to take the following tests: Vision exam, Hearing test and the DMV written test.
To be eligible for the provisional license you must: be at least 16 years, have held your learner’s permit for at least one year without any suspensions, revocations or cancelation of your learner’s permit and you must have completed a minimum of 50 hours of behind-the-wheel driving experience (of which 10 hours must be during the night).
With your Florida learner’s permit in your possession, you are only allowed to drive during the day for the first three months. After which you will be allowed to drive until 10 p.m. In addition, you must always be supervised by a licensed driver who is above 21 years old and they must always seat next to the driver seat.
After you turn 18 years old, your provisional driver’s license will automatically turn into a full-privilege driver’s license. With the Full Unrestricted Driver’s License, you will not be required to follow any restrictions or have someone supervise you.
drivers license, provisional license, Unrestricted Driver's License
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *