The Kansas Department of Revenue (DOR)implemented a graduated driver licensing (GDL) program and requires all new drivers to satisfy the requirements before obtaining an unrestricted driver’s license. Under the GDL program, the first step is getting a learner’s permit.
If you would like to avoid some of the testing requirements in the GDL program, you should consider enrolling in adriver’s education course before you apply for your learner’s permit. Completing the course will not only make you bypass some of the DMV test, it will also help you become a more responsible driver when you are issued with your unrestricted driver’s license.
Part of the application process for a learner’s permit is taking the written Kansas permit test. The test contains a series of multiple tests and is designed to prepare the applicantto become a safer and responsible driver. The written test focuses on the following areas: Kansas traffic laws, road signs, defensive driving, parking, how to enter and exit the freeway, sharing the road, switching lanes and signaling, and how to react in the event of an accident or emergency. When applying for your learner’s permit, the Kansas driver’s license bureau will waive the written test if you submit a driver’s education completion certificate (Form DE-99).
You can study the Kansas Driver Manual to get ready for your Kansas written permit test. In addition to studying the driver’s manual, you can also prepare by going through study guides and taking online practice tests from authorized providers. The practice tests offer a good way to review and learn the relevant material that will be set in the exam, you also get a feel for the type of questions that will be on the test and how they are structured. If you fail the written test on your first attempt, you will have to wait for one business day before you can retake the test, but you will have to pay $1.50 retesting fee. However, if you fail the test more than 4 times, you will have to wait for at least 180 days before taking it again.