The Arkansas DMV requires that first time driver’s permit applicants go through a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program. Under the GDL program, all teens below 18 years of age are required to achieve certain age- and experience-related milestones before obtaining their full driver’s license. The first step under the GDL program is to obtain a learner’s permit.
There are different stages in the GDL program, all of which are based uponthe age of the applicant:
- For a learner’s permit, the applicant has to be 14 years old
- Fora provisional license the applicant has to be 16 years old
- For an unrestricted driver’s license the applicant has to be 18 years old
However, these restrictions do not apply if you are above 16 years old and you are married or considered “head of household,” if you have earned a GED or a high school diploma or if you are an active duty member of the U.S. military.
Though a driver’s education course is not mandatory as part of the Arkansas GDL program, it is an important course to help the applicant become a safer and more responsible driver.
While applying for your driver’s permit you will be required to take a permit test. Once you have all the requirements of applying for your permit, visit an Arkansas State Police testing sitewhere you will take the test. It is always wise to make an appointment before you go in order to minimize the waiting time. The written permit test comprises of questions about Arkansas traffic laws, road signs, defensive driving, parking, how to enter and exit the freeway, sharing the road, switching lanes and signaling, and how to react in the event of an accident or emergency.
To help you pass the written test, you should go through the state’s driver handbook. You can also take online practice tests in advance, it will help you be ready and know what to expect in the test. In case you fail the test, the Arkansas DMV will require you retake the test after a certain period of time: ask your examiner for details. However, if you pass your written test, you will be issued with your driver’s permit.