9Jun 2015

Arkansas Driver Services

Whether you live in or you have just move to Arkansas, you must possess a valid driver license to drive a motor vehicle in the state. The Arkansas Office of Driver Services (ODS), a division of the Department of Finance and Administration (DFA), and the Arkansas State Police are responsible for testing and issuing of driver’s licenses.

The first step to obtaining your Arkansas driver’s license is to obtain your learner’s permit.

Arkansas Learner’s Permit Requirement

There are different stages in the process of obtaining your learner’s permit, all of which are based upon your age:

  • 14 years old: Eligible for learner’s permit.
  • 16 years old: Eligible for provisional license.
  • 18 years old: Eligible for unrestricted driver’s license.

However, these restrictions cannot apply if you are 16 years and:

  • You are considered “head of household” or married.
  • You have earned a GED or a high school diploma.
  • You are an active duty member of the U.S. military.

Apply for an Arkansas Learner’s Permit

Testing for your driver’s license is administered by the Arkansas State Police (ASP). You will need to visit an ASP testing site and provide the following documents:


  • A completed Application for Driver’s License/Learner’s Permit


  • Proof of verifiable Social Security number
  • Proof of legal presence (e.g. U.S. birth certificate, U.S. passport)
  • Proof of identity with your full name and date of birth displayed.

Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) Classes in Arkansas

You can apply for the follow types of Commercial Driver’s License through the Arkansas DFA:

  • Class A, this CDL allows you to drive a combination of trailers and trucks weighing over 26,001 lbs., and the trailer can weigh as much as 10,000 lbs. or more.
  • Class B, this CDL allows you to drive single vehicles that weigh more than 26,001 lbs. and tow a vehicle weighing as much as 10,000 lbs.
  • Class C, this CDL allows you to drive any single vehicle that weighs 26,001 lbs. or less. In addition, you can drive a vehicle that carries at least 16 passengers or vehicles that are made transportation of hazardous materials.

To apply for any CDL, you must be at least 18 years old.

Class D driver’s license in Arkansas

There are two types of class D driver licenses:

  • Class D Driver’s License (Under 21): it is meant for drivers between the age of 18 and 21 years, and it is a regular passenger vehicle driver’s license
  • Class D Driver’s License (Over 21): it is meant for drivers who are over 21 years and it is a regular passenger vehicle driver’s license

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *