In Colorado, the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is responsible for your driver records. Your driving record includes details about your license suspensions or revocations, traffic citations, violations, and fines, any accidents and/or points held against you, license classifications and endorsements.
In Colorado, you can only order for your driving record in person or by mail. Unlike other states, you cannot order your driving record online. To obtain your driving record either in person or by mail you need to provides your date of birth, driver’s license number, signature and photocopy of your photo ID with a signature and complete a Requestor Release and Affidavit of Intended Use by completing form DR 2489. However, if you want a non-certified CO driving record, you must send by mail or in person the above documents to the nearest office. The DMV offices charge a small fee depending on whether you ordered for a certified or non-certified record. A Free driving record is available on this website. For a certified record the charges are $2.20 and for a non-certified record $2.70. The only payment methods allowed are by cash or checks made payable to the “Department of Revenue.” Credit or debit cards are not accepted. The application takes a few days to be processed.
Colorado considers driving records private and confidential and therefore prohibits obtaining someone’s driving records unless it has been ordered by a court or you are an employer. The court may request for a driving record as part of a legal proceeding and an employee may request for a driving record to make a hiring decision or as part of auditing your driving history if it is associated with your work. For more information visit the Colorado Driving Record website.