If you are applying for a driver’s license for the first time in North Dakota, the Department of Transportation (DOT) will first issue you with a learners permit. This is according to the state’s graduated driver’s license (GDL) program which has several milestones that first time driver’s license applicants must complete successfully before being issued with an unrestricted driver’s license. The learner’s permit will allow you to drive under the supervision of an adult and help you to prepare for your road test. However, you will have to take a written permit test before you are issued with your learner’s permit.
If you recently moved to North Dakota, you have 60 days to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license or learner’s permit. However, if you have an out-of-state permit, you should check if you can transfer it for a North Dakota instruction permit by directly contacting the North Dakota DOT.
The North Dakota written permit test consist of multiple choice questions and mainly covers the following areas: North Dakotatraffic laws, road signs, vehicle safety, defensive driving, vehicle positioning, signaling and communicating to other drivers, parking, sharing the road, road signage, entering and exiting the freeway, lane use, and accident and emergency procedures.
To prepare for the written test, you can study the ND Noncommercial Driver’s License Manual. The manual will give a comprehensive knowledge off all you need to know about the questions in the written test. However there are other study materials like the online practice tests. A combination of the two will help you test your knowledge about the rules of the road in North Dakota, familiarize with the format of the actual exam and learn what it takes to pass the written test.
You do not need to book an appointment with the North Carolina DOT to take the written permit test; however, you must arrive at the DOT office 1 hour before the office closes for lunch or 1 hour prior to closing for the day. You will be required to pay a $5 fee for the written permit test. When you pass the test and pay the recommended fee you will be issued with your driver’s permit.