If you need your driving record, you can order it through the Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS). Your Minnesota driving record contains 4 categories of information: public information (The status of your MN driver license, your zip code, convictions, and outstanding fees and fines), restricted information (name, date of birth, address and your driver’s license number), private information (your social security number, leased vehicle information and medical information) and confidential information, information submitted by your family that describes your ability to drive. Your driving record has information about your traffic accidents, driver license suspensions, traffic violations, driver license revocations and driver license cancellations.
You can order for your driving record by mail or in person. To request for your driving record you will need a completed DVS Records Request (Form PS2502). Be sure to include the driver’s personal information, the reason for your request and your mailing address. Take the above to your local Minnesota DVS office, or mail it to:
Driver and Vehicle Services
445 Minnesota St, Suite 161
St Paul, MN 55101
The fee charged for ordering a driving record depends on the type of driving record you order. Your own non-certified driving record: $9 and another driver’s non-certified driving record: $9.50. the state does not offer free driving records.
You can order another driver’s driving record if purpose of your request fall under the following categories: if you have a written consent from the driver, employer conducting background checks, government agencies ,and insurance companies investigating claims or adjusting insurance policies. For more information visit the Driver and Vehicle Services.