Georgia Drivers Permit
A Georgia driver’s permit is a requirement of the Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA). It is a graduated driver’s license (GDL) process that involves a number licensing stages for teen drivers. TADRA ensures that teenage drivers, drive safely and responsibly.
The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) is responsible for issuing and regulation of instructional permits and driver’s licenses
Georgia Instructional Permit
You must be at least 15 years to apply for an instructional permit in Georgia. To apply visit the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) with:
- A complete application form. Your parents or legal guardian must sign the application.
- A completed Certificate of Attendance (Form DS-1)
- Proof of identity
- One document with proof of your social security number
- Two documents to prove that you are a Georgia resident (school report card or bank statement)
- Payment of the $10 fee (payments are made via credit or debit cards, check, money order or cash)
In addition to the above requirements you will need to take the following tests: two written tests and one vision exam.
Intermediate Driver’s License
After the Georgia Instructional Permit, the next step is obtaining an Intermediate Driver’s License. For you to be eligible you must:
- Have held your Georgia instructional permit for not less than 12 months.
- Be at least 16 years old
- Complete supervised driving hours (40 hours of supervised driving, including 6 hours of night driving)
- Pass a driving test.
Instructional Permit Driving Restrictions
With your Georgia instructional permit there are restrictions that you must put up with, you are only allowed to drive while accompanied by your parent, legal guardian or a supervising driver who is: Licensed to drive a class C vehicle, at least 21 years old, attentive and alert enough to take control if necessary and sitting next to the driver seat in the vehicle.
Your school attendance and conduct also plays a big role when you have a Georgia instructional permit. Your instructional permit can be taken from you if you stop attending school, have more than ten unexcused absences and if you have infractions of poor conduct. For more information visit the Georgia Department of Driver Services.