TheWest Virginia DMV initiated a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program in an effort to reduce the rate of fatalities and accidents among teens. Under the GDL program, teens and first time driver’s license applicantsare required to complete certain milestones prior to getting an unrestricted driver’s license.The first step in the GDL program is to obtain a learner’s permit; however, you will have to take a written permit test before you are issued with your permit.
If you are a new West Virginia resident, you will be required to exchange your out-of-state learner’s permit with a Rhode Island driver’s license or learner’s permit 30 days after you move to West Virginia. It is advisable to directly contact the DMV office to determine whether you should apply for a West Virginia driver’s license or learner’s permit because GDL eligibility requirements vary by state.
Questions in the written permit test are directly sourced from the West Virginia Driver Handbook and are based on information about road signs, safe driving techniques and state-specific traffic laws.
To prepare for the written test, you can study the West Virginia driver license manual. The manual will give a comprehensive knowledge off all you need to know about the questions in the written test. However there are other study materials like the online practice tests. A combination of the two will help you test your knowledge about the rules of the road in West Virginia, familiarize with the format of the actual exam and learn what it takes to pass the written test. In addition to the written permit test you will also need to take a vision screening test.To pass the written permit test you will need a pass score of 80%. When you pass these tests and pay the recommended fee you will be issued with your driver’s permit.
After preparing and you are ready for the test, visit local West Virginia DMV office with the required documents and you will be given the written permit test. You will need to successfully pass a vision test in addition to the written permit test, and also pay a $5 permit fee.