23Jul 2015

What is ‘legally drunk’ in Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, drivers less than 21 years are considered to be legally drunk if their blood alcohol level is more than .02, for non-commercial drivers above 21 years, they are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .08. On the other hand, commercial vehicle drivers are considering being legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .04. School bus drivers are considered to be commercial drivers; however, they are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .02.

Pennsylvania Drunk Driving Pennsylvania

For first time DUI offenders, the face the following penalties:

  • A mandatory minimum term of 6 months’ probation
  • The offender will be subjected to pay a fine of $300
  • The offender will required to attend an alcohol highway safety school
  • The offender must comply with all alcohol treatment requirements imposed by the judge
  • The offender will be subjected to 150 hours of community service.

 
For second time offenders they face:

  • A prison sentence of at least 5 days
  • The offender will be subjected to pay a fine ranging from $300 to $2,500
  • The offender must attend an alcohol highway safety school
  • The offender must comply with all alcohol treatment requirements imposed by the judge
  • The offender will be subjected to 150 hours of community service

 
For third time offenders, they face:

  • A prison sentence of at least 10 days
  • A fine ranging from $500 to $5,000
  • The offender must comply with all alcohol treatment requirements imposed by the judge
  • The offender will be subjected to 150 hours of community service

 
For fourth and subsequent offenders, they face:

  • A prison sentence of at least 1 year
  • The offender will be subjected to pay a fine ranging from $1,500 to $10,000
  • The offender will be subjected to 150 hours of community service

 

The Point System in Pennsylvania

The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) uses the point system to monitor dangerous drivers and improve road safety. Most moving traffic violations carry points, when you accumulate too many points you risk your driver’s license being suspended and being subjected to fines. When any driving record reaches 6 or more points for the first time, the driver will receive a written notice to take a special written point examination.

 

6 responses on “DUI Law in Pennsylvania

  1. Jon Cannon says:

    Your blog post had me hooked from the first sentence.

  2. Pretty! This has been a really wonderful post. Many thanks for providing these details.

  3. I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

  4. Siempre que haya una red, puede grabar en tiempo real de forma remota, sin instalación de hardware especial.

  5. Cuando olvide la contraseña para bloquear la pantalla, si no ingresa la contraseña correcta, será difícil desbloquear y obtener acceso. Si descubre que su novio / novia sospecha, es posible que haya pensado en piratear su teléfono Samsung para obtener más pruebas. Aquí, le proporcionaremos la mejor solución sobre cómo descifrar la contraseña de un teléfono móvil Samsung.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *