9Jul 2015
Jul 9, 2015

What is ‘legally drunk’ Ohio

In Ohio, drivers less than 21 years are considered to be legally drunk if their blood alcohol level is more than .02, for non-commercial drivers above 21 years, they are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .08. Commercial vehicle drivers are considered legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .04. In Ohio, school bus drivers are commercial drivers.

Ohio Drunk Driving Penalties

First time DUI offenders in Ohio face the following penalties:

  • A prison sentence not exceeding 6 months
  • The offender will be subjected to pay a fine ranging from $375 to $1,075
  • The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is 3 years

 
For second time offenders within six years of the first offence, they face:

  • A prison sentence of up to 6 years
  • The offender will be subjected to pay a fine ranging between $525 and $1,625
  • The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is 5 years

 
For third DUI offenders within 6 years of the previous offence, they face:

  • A prison sentence of up to one year
  • The offender will be subjected to pay a fine of $850 to $2,700
  • The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is 10 years

 
For fourth or subsequent DUI offenders within 6 years of their first conviction, they face the following penalties:

  • A prison sentence of up to 5 years
  • The offender will be subjected to pay a fine of $1,350 to $10,500
  • The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is between 3 years to life

 
Commercial drivers convicted of a DUI offense will face disqualification from operating a commercial vehicle for a period of one year. However, if at the time of the offence the driver was transporting hazardous material, the disqualification period is three years. A commercial driver risks disqualification from driving a commercial vehicle for life if he/she is convicted of a DUI offense twice.

The Point System in Ohio

The Ohio DMV uses the point system to track irresponsible drivers. If you accumulate too many points, you will face fines from the traffic court and the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), reinstatement requirements and driver’s license restrictions. When you accumulate 12 points, the suspension is automatic in Ohio. Completing a driving course will give you a 2 point credit.
 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *