8Jul 2015
Jul 8, 2015

What is ‘legally drunk’ in Nevada

In Nevada, drivers under the age of 21 years are considered to be legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .02, for non-commercial drivers above 21 years, when their blood alcohol level is more than .08 they are considered to be legally drunk. On the other hand, for commercial vehicle drivers, they are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .04.

Nevada Drunk Driving Penalties

For first time DUI offender in Nevada, they face the following penalties:

  • A jail term of 6 months
  • Up to 96 hours of community service, furthermore, the offender must dressed in distinctive outfit to show that he/she is a violator of the  DUI laws
  • The offender will be subjected to a fine ranging from $400 to $1,000
  • The offender is required to attend an education course on alcohol abuse
  • The driver’s license revocation period is 3 months

However, if the offender’s BAC level is more than .18, he/she will be required to attend an alcohol treatment facility for up to one year.

For second time offenders within 7 years of the previous offense, they face the following penalties:

  • A prison sentence of 6 months in a jail or residential confinement/house arrest
  • The offender will be subject to pay a fine ranging from $750 to $1,000
  • Up to 96 hours of community service, the offender must dressed in distinctive outfit to show that he/she is a violator of the  DUI laws
  • The offender will be required to attend an alcohol treatment facility for a period of one year
  • The offender’s driver’s license revocation period is one year.

For third time and subsequent offenders, they face the following penalties:

  • A prison sentence of 1 to 6 years
  • A fine ranging from $2,000 to $5,000
  • The offender’s driver’s license revocation period is 3 years

The Point System in Nevada

In an effort to promote good driving, the Nevada DMV operates on a point system. The points are added to your driving record after every traffic violation, if you accumulate too many points you risk losing your driving privileges. When you receive 12 or more points in any 12-month period, your driver license is automatically suspended for 6 months. Major traffic violation convictions such as DUI, death or substantial bodily harm are not given demerit points. These offenses result in automatic revocation or suspension of your license.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *