What is ‘legally drunk’ in Oregon
In Oregon, drivers less than 21 years are considered to be legally drunk if their blood alcohol level is more than .02, for non-commercial drivers above 21 years, they are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .08. On the other hand, commercial vehicle drivers are considering being legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .04. In Oregon, school bus drivers are commercial drivers.
Oregon Drunk Driving Penalties
DUI is a Class A offense under Oregon law except when the offender has been convicted for more than two time of other DUI offences in 10 years before the date of the fourth or subsequent offense. In such a case, the offender will have committed a Class C offense.
For first time (Class A) offenders, they face the following penalties:
- A prison sentence of up to one year
- The offender will be subjected to pay a minimum fine of $1,000 but not exceeding $6,250
- The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is 3 months
For second time offenders within five years of the first conviction, they face:
- A prison sentence of up to 5 years
- The offender will be subjected to pay a fine ranging from $1,500 to $125,000
- The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is one year
For third time offenders, they face:
- A fine of at least $2,00
- The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is 3 years
For commercial drivers convicted of a DUI offense, the offender is disqualified from operating a commercial vehicle for a period of one year. However, if the offender was driving a commercial vehicle that had hazardous material at the time of the offense, the disqualification period is 3 years. If the offender is convicted for a second time, he/she will be banned from driving a commercial vehicle for life.
The Point System in Oregon
Though the Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division (DMV) do not use the point system, the DMV takes note of how many tickets you get. Driver involved in preventable accidents or those who get numerous tickets are subjected to suspensions or driving restrictions under Oregon’s Driver Improvement Program.