The North Carolina limited learner’s permit is the first step of the state’s DMV graduated driver’s license (GDL) program. The program was designed for first time driver’s license applicants to help them become more responsible drivers when they obtain their driver’s license. The GDL program involves several licensing stages, each stage with different eligibility requirements and driving restrictions that the applicant must fulfill. In addition, the applicant must take and pass a written permit test before being issued with a learner’s permit.
If you are a new North Carolina resident, you have 60 days from the time you move to North Carolina to transfer your out-of-state driver’s license or learner’s permit.However, you should consider directly contacting your local DMV office to confirm which GDL stage you are supposed to start with if you are between 15 and 18 years old and if you have an out-of-state driver’s license or learner’s permit.
If you are below 18 years old, you will be required to complete a Driver’s Ed course before being issued with your learner’s permit. However, if you already completed a Driver’s Ed course in another state, the North Carolina DMV will not require you to take the test again. You should therefore remember to carry your certificate of completion of an out-of-state course when you go to transfer your permit. The course must meet the North Carolina DMV standards which include 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction.
The next requirement under the North Carolina GDL program is taking a written permit test. The test contains a series of multiple choice questions that are directly obtained from the North Carolina Driver’s Handbook. It covers a number of topics which include: NorthCarolina traffic laws, safe driving, identifying traffic signs by their shapes and colors, describing the meaning of each traffic sign, accident and emergency procedures and defensive driving.
To prepare to pass the written test on your first attempt, it is advisable that you study the North Carolina Driver’s Handbook. In addition, you can also take basic practice tests that are provided online by the DMV.