The Wyoming Department of Transportation (DOT) is responsible for keeping and issuing of driving records in Wyoming. The Wyoming DOT offers three types of driving records: a 3-year driving record, a 5-year driving record and a 10 year driving record. A Wyoming driving record contains the following information: Uninsured accidents, violations of car insurance laws, traffic violations in other states, driver’s license suspensions, point held against you, DUIs and any felony resulting from driving.
You can only order for a copy of your driving record by mail or in person. To order for your driving record in person, visit any WY driver examination office with your Wyoming driver’s license and the required payment. To order by mail, you will need a completed Release for Driving Record & Personal Information (Form DSFR-11e) or a letter of request that contains your full name, date of birth, Social Security number (SSN) and driver’s license number. Mail the above to:
Wyoming Department of Transportation
Driver Service – Driving Records
5300 Bishop Blvd
Cheyenne, WY 82009
You driving record will take 7 business days to be processed. The state does not provide free driving record; therefore, you will be required to pay a small fee of $5 to obtain your driving record.
Under the Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act, the DOT can only release your driving record to the following:
- Research companies.
- Civil, criminal, and administrative courts.
- Anyone with written permission from you.
- Private investigation agencies.
- Insurance companies.
For more information visit the Wyoming Department of Transportation (DOT).