24Jul 2015
Jul 24, 2015

What is ‘legally drunk’ in Wisconsin

In Wisconsin, it is illegal for drivers under the age of 21 years to drink alcohol, as a result they are considered to be legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .01. Non-commercial drivers above 21 years are legally drunk if their blood alcohol level is more than .08. For commercial vehicle drivers, they are legally drunk if their blood alcohol level is more than .04.

Wisconsin Drunk Driving Penalties

For first time DUI offenders in Wisconsin, they face the following penalties:

  • A fine ranging from $150 to $300
  • The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is 6 to 9 months

For second time offenders within 10 years of the first conviction, they face:

  • A prison sentence of 5 days to 6 months
  • A fine ranging from $350 to $1,100
  • The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is 1 year to 18 months

For drivers committing their third DUI offence, they face:

  • A prison sentence of 1 month to 1 year in a county jail
  • A fine ranging from $600 to $2,000
  • The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is two to three years

For offenders convicted for a fourth time, they face:

  • A prison sentence of 2 months to 1 year in a county jail
  • A fine ranging from $600 to $2,000
  • The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is two to three years

For fifth or subsequent DUI convictions the offender faces:

  • A prison sentence of 6 months to 6 years
  • A fine not exceeding $10,000
  • The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is two to three years

It is important to note that penalties for a DUI conviction in Winnebago County may be different from the penalties listed above.

The Point System in Wisconsin

The Wisconsin DMV is responsible for awarding demerit points when you are involved in any traffic violation and get a traffic ticket, the points you earn depend on the nature of the infraction. Accumulation of points can lead to suspension of your driving privileges, fines and your driver’s license being suspended, revoked or canceled. When you accumulate 12 or more demerit points within a 12-month period, your driving privilege will be suspended