A motor vehicle record (MVR) or driving record from the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) contains your driving history over a specific period of time. The Vermont DMV offer two types of driving records, a 3-year driving history and a complete driving history. Your Vermont driving record contains the following information:
- Traffic violations, convictions and accidents.
- License suspensions, revocations and disqualifications.
- Points on your Vermont driver’s license
- Points remain on a Vermont driving record for 2 years.
- Failed court appearances.
You can order for a copy of your driving record in person or by mail. You can only obtain your driving record in person through the Vermont DMV office in Montpelier. You will need to submit a completed Vermont DMV Record Request (Form TA-VG-116), copies of your identification documents and the required fee. You will be issued with your driving record immediately. To order for your driving record by mail, you will need a completed Vermont DMV Record Request (Form TA-VG-116), copies of your identification documents and payment made by check. Mail the above documents to:
Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State St.
Montpelier, VT 05603
The state does not provide free driving records, the fees payable is determined by the type of driving record you order. For a 3-year driving history the fee is $13 and $16 for a complete driving history.
Under the Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA), the following organizations can order for your driving record:
- Potential employers doing background checks
- Auto insurance companies.
- Any motor vehicle related entity.
- Government agencies or any court of law.
For more information visit the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).