The Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is responsible for keeping driving records for all licensed residents in Rhode Island. Your driving record shows your driver history from the past 3 years, including: Your driver license classification, tickets, accidents, restrictions and suspensions. The Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offers two types of driving record: the certified and non-certified RI driving records.
You can order for a copy of your driving record online, in person or by mail. To order for your driving record in person, visit your local RI DMV office, you will request for your driving record and pay the required fee. To order by mail, you will need to enclose a written request containing your name, license number, date of birth, address and check or money order for your driving record fee. Mail the above information to:
Division of Motor Vehicles
600 New London Avenue
Cranston, RI 02920
To order for a copy of your driving record online, you will need to visit the RI Motor Vehicle Records page. You will enter your last name, date of birth, zip code and RI driver’s license number. After finishing the transaction you will be able to print your driving record. The state does not provide free driving record; you will be required to pay the following fee to obtain your driving record:
- In person: $17.50.
- By mail: $17.50.
- Online: $19.50.
No independent persons or agencies can order for another driver’s driving record. However, the following agencies may access your driving record: Courts, law enforcement and government agencies, insurance companies, employers and towing companies or impound yards. Visit the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles for more information.