9Jul 2015
Jul 9, 2015

What is ‘legally drunk’ in Oklahoma

In Oklahoma, drivers under the age of 21 years are not allowed to drink, as a result they are considered to be legally drunk when their blood has any measurable amount of alcohol. For non-commercial drivers above 21 years, they are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .08. Commercial vehicle drivers are considered legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .04. In Oklahoma, school bus drivers are commercial drivers.

Oklahoma Drunk Driving Penalties

First time DUI offenders face the following penalties:

  • A prison sentence of 10 days to 1 year
  • A fine not exceeding $1,000
  • The offender is required to enroll in a substance abuse assessment and consultation program
  • The revocation period for the offender’s driver’s license is 6 months

 

For second time offenders within 10 years of the first offence, they face:

  • A prison sentence of 1 to 5 years
  • A fine not exceeding $2,500
  • The offender is required to enroll in a substance abuse assessment and consultation program
  • The revocation period for the offender’s driver’s license is one year if the offense occurred within five years of the first offense

 

For third time offenders, they face:

  • A prison sentence of 1 to 7 years
  • A fine of up to $5,000
  • The offender is required to enroll in a substance abuse assessment and consultation program, and follow the recommendations made as a result of the of the assessment
  • The offender will be subjected to 240 hours of community service
  • The offender will be required to equip all the vehicles he/she uses with an ignition interlock device
  • The revocation period for the offender’s driver’s license is up to 3 years.

 
For a fourth or subsequent offender, he/she faces:

  • A prison sentence of 1 to 10 years
  • A fine of up to $10,000
  • The offender is required to enroll in a substance abuse assessment and consultation program, and follow the recommendations made as a result of the of the assessment
  • The offender will be subjected to 480 hours of community service
  • The offender will be required to equip all the vehicles he/she uses with an ignition interlock device for at least 30 days
  • The revocation period for the offender’s driver’s license is 3 years

 

The Point System in Oklahoma

The Oklahoma DMV uses the point system to keep track of drivers driving records. Accumulating too many points could lead to your driver’s license suspension or even revocation. If you receive 10 points on your license over a period of 5 years, your license will be suspended by the Department of Public Safety.