12Jul 2015

In Nebraska, you must first obtain a driver’s permit from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) if you are a teenager applying for your first driver’s license. The Department of Motor Vehicles has implemented a graduated driver licensing (GDL) program to help teen drivers gain the skills necessary to become a safe driver. Depending on your age, there are different learner’s permits you must apply for before you obtain a full driver’s license. The permits are:

  • School learner’s permit (LPE): 14 year to 16 years
  • School permit (SCP): 14 years and 2 months to 16 years and 3 months
  • Learner’s permits (LPD): 3 months before you turn 15 years old
  • Provisional operator’s permit (POP): 2 months before you turn 16 years old

If you are a new Nebraska resident and you have an out-of-state learner’s permit, you will still be required to complete the Nebraska GDL programbeforeobtaining your driver’s license. However, you can transfer your out-of-state driver’s license if you are 18 years old, you will be required to pass a vision test. Depending on the circumstance you may be required to pass a written permit test and driving test.

The written permit test contains a series of multiple choice questions that are mainly obtained from the Nebraska Driver’s Manual. Each type of permit has a different written exam and the questions cover the following topics: Nebraska traffic laws, road signs, vehicle safety, defensive driving, vehicle positioning, signaling and communicating to other drivers, parking, sharing the road, road signage, entering and exiting the freeway, lane use, and accident and emergency procedures.You may bypass the written permit test if your LPD, SCP or LPE has expired for less than 12 months or is currently valid. In addition, the test will be waived if you have successfully completeda DMV approved safety course. Your course completion results will be sent to the DMV office electronically.

It is important that you prepare for the test, you can do these by studying the Nebraska driver’s manual or you can opt to take basic practice test offered by the Nebraska DMV.