8Jul 2015
Jul 8, 2015

What is ‘legally drunk’ in Nebraska

For drivers under the age of 21 years, they are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is
more than .02, for non-commercial drivers, they are considered to be legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .08. However, for commercial vehicle driver, they are legally drunk when their blood alcohol concentration is more than .04 percent. In Nebraska, school bus drivers are commercial drivers.

Nebraska Drunk Driving Penalties

For first time DUI offenders in Nebraska, they face the following penalties:

  • A prison sentence of up to 2 months
  • A fine not exceeding $500
  • The offender’s driver’s license revocation period is 6 months. However, if the offenders BAC level was more than .15, the revocation period will be 1 year

 
For second time offenders, they face:

  • A prison sentence not exceeding 6 months
  • A fine of up to $500
  • The offender’s driver’s license revocation period is 18 months. If the offender BAC level was more than .15 at the time of the offence, he/she will be subjected to a prison sentence of 1 year and a fine of up to $1,000
  • The offender will also face revocation period ranging from 18 months to 15 years

 
For offender convicted for a third time, they face:

  • A prison sentence not exceeding one year
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • The offender’s driver’s license revocation period is 15 years. However, if the offenders BAC level was more than .15, he/she faces a prison sentence of 1 year and a fine not exceeding $10,000.

 
For offender convicted for the fourth time, the face the following penalties:

  • A prison sentence of 1 to 5 years
  • A fine not exceeding $10,000
  • If the offender’s BAC level was more than .15, he/she faces a prison sentence of 1 to 20 years and a fine not exceeding $25,000

 
For fifth time and subsequent offenders, they face:

  • A prison sentence of 1 to 20 years
  • A fine not exceeding $25,000
  • The offender’s driver’s license revocation period is 15 years. However, if the offender had a BAC level more than .15, the prison sentence is more than 3 to 50 years.

 

The Point System in Nebraska

In Nebraska, points are added to your driving record anytime you are convicted of a traffic violation. For a DUI offence you get 6 points.  When you accumulate too many points you risk losing your driving privileges and increased rates of your auto insurance.