6Jul 2015
Jul 6, 2015

What is ‘legally drunk’ in Missouri

For drivers under 21 years, the state considers them legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .02, for non-commercial drivers above 21 years; they are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than.08. On the other hand, commercial vehicle drivers are considers legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .04. In Missouri, school bus drivers are commercial drivers.

Missouri Drunk Driving Penalties

For first time DUI offenders in Missouri, they face the following penalties:

  • A prison sentence of up to 6 months
  • A fine not exceeding $500
  • The driver’s license revocation period is 1 month
  • Restricted riving privileges for 2 months, the restrictions will only allow the offender to drive to certain places such as work

 
For second time offender within 5 years of the previous offense, they face:

  • A prison sentence of up to 1 year in a county jail
  • A fine not exceeding $1,000
  • The revocation period for the offender’s driver’s license is one year

For third time offenders, they are considered to be “persistent offender” and face the following penalties:

  • A prison sentence of up to 4 years
  • A fine not exceeding $5,000
  • The offender’s driver’s license will be revoked
  • The offender may or may not be eligible to apply for reinstatement after serving time in prison depending on the circumstances surrounding all of the convictions

 
A fourth time offender is considered an “aggravated offender” and faces:

  • A prison sentence of up to 7 years
  • A fine not exceeding $5,000
  • The offender’s driver’s license will be revoked
  • The offender may or may not be eligible to apply for reinstatement 10 years after serving time in prison, depending on the circumstances surrounding all of the convictions

 
For commercial drivers convicted of a DUI offense, the offender is disqualified from operating a commercial vehicle for a period of one year. However, if the offender was driving a commercial vehicle that had hazardous material at the time of the offense, the disqualification period is three years. If the offender is convicted for a second time, he/she will be banned from driving a commercial vehicle for life.

The Point System in Missouri

The Department of Revenue’s (DOR) Motor Vehicle and Driver Licensing Division Missouri is responsible for awarding points when you commit any traffic violation. When you accumulate too many points on your driving record your driver’s license can be suspended, furthermore, you could face defensive driving/driver improvement requirements, fines and increased car insurance rates.