The Minnesota Department of Public Safety is responsible for issuing of driver’s permits; it has a graduated driver’s licensing (GDL) system that is a requirement for all first time drivers’ license applicants before they get an unrestricted driver’s license. GDL has various milestones that first time applicants must complete before they can become fully licensed drivers. The first stage in the GDL program is obtaining a learner’s permit. However, you will be required to take a written permit test before you are issued with your learner’s permit.
If you are a new Minnesota resident and you have anout-of-state driver’s license or learner’s permit, you have 60 days to transfer it after moving to Minnesota. To transfer your out-of-state driver’s license you must have a valid driver’s license from within the U.S territory, you must pass a vision screening and a written permit test.
The written permit test ismainly given on paper; however, it can be taken online at some testing locations. The test consists of multiple choice questions and mainly covers the following topics: accident and emergency procedures, entering and exiting the freeway, lane use, vehicle safety, vehicle positioning, defensive driving, signaling and communicating to other drivers, parking, Minnesota traffic laws and road signs.
To prepare for the test, the Minnesota DVS recommends that you study the Minnesota Driver’s Manual which has all the information that will be set in the written permit test. In addition to the driver’s manual, you can also opt to take online practice tests which will help you have an idea of how the questions are set and how you should answer them. A combination of the two will help you prepare and pass the test on your first attempt.
To take the written permittest you will need to visit your local MN DPS office with the following documents:
- One document of primary identification (birth certificate, valid U.S passport) and one document of secondary identification (certified school transcript).
- Your Driver’s Ed certificate of enrollment (Blue Card).
If you do not pass the test on your first attempt, you can retake it on the next business day. You should keep in mind that you can only take one test per day. You will not be charged for the first two attempts; however, for subsequent attempts you will have to pay $10 each.