6Jul 2015
Jul 6, 2015

What is ‘legally drunk’ in Maryland

For drivers under the age of 21 years, they are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is
more than .02, for non-commercial drivers, they are considered to be legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .08. However, for commercial vehicle driver, they are legally drunk when their blood alcohol concentration is more than .04 percent.

Maryland Drunk Driving Penalties

For first time DUI offenders in Maryland, they face the following penalties:

  • A prison sentence of up to one year
  • The offender will be subjected to pay a fine not exceeding $1,000
  • The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is 45 days if his/her BAC level was .08 but less than .15. However, if the offender BAC level was more than .15, the suspension period is 3 months.

 
For second time offenders within 5 years of their previous conviction, they face the following penalties:

  • A prison sentence not exceeding 2 years
  • The offender will be subjected to pay a fine not exceeding $2,000
  • The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is 3 months if the offenders BAC level was between .08 and .15. However, if the offender’s BAC level was more than .15 the suspension period is 6 months.
  • The offender will be required to use an ignition interlock device for a period of 3 years

 
For third time or subsequent offenders within 5 years of their first conviction, they face:

  • A prison sentence not exceeding 3 years
  • The offender will be subjected to pay a fine not exceeding $3,000
  • The offender will be required to equip all the vehicles he/she uses with an ignition interlock system for 3 years.

 
For commercial vehicle drivers, first time offenders are disqualified from operating a commercial vehicle for a period of 1 year. However, if at the time of the offence the driver was transporting hazardous material he/she will be disqualified for a period of 3 years. Second time offenders risk disqualification for life.

The Point System in Maryland

The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) is responsible for awarding points if you are convicted of any traffic violation. Accumulation of too much point may lead to court fines, paying reinstatement fees and enrolment in driver improvement course. Your license will be revoked by the MVA if you accumulate more than 12 points.