The Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) implemented a graduated driver’s license (GDL) program, the program is designed for teen drivers younger than 18 years old and it is meant to make them safer and more responsible drivers when they get their full driver’s license. The GDL program has a number of requirements which teens must achieve before they are issued with a driver’s license. Though the first step under the GDL program is to get a learner’s permit you will also have to take a written permit test.
If you are a new Maine resident, you will be required to exchange your out-of-state learner’s permit with a Maine driver’s license or learner’s permit 30 days after you move to Maine. It is advisable to directly contact the BMV to determine whether you should apply for a Maine driver’s license or learner’s permit because GDL eligibility requirements vary by state. In addition, driver education is required if you are below 18 years, you should therefore check to see if your out-of-state Driver’s Ed course is accepted in Maine.
To take the written permit test you are required to make an appointment with the MaineBMV. The test consist of multiple choice questions and mainly covers the following areas: Mainetraffic laws, road signs, vehicle safety, defensive driving, vehicle positioning, signaling and communicating to other drivers, parking, sharing the road, road signage, entering and exiting the freeway, lane use, and accident and emergency procedures.
To preparefor the written test, you can study the Mainedriver license manual. The manual will give a comprehensive knowledge off all you need to know about the questions in the written test. However there are other study materials like the online practice tests. A combination of the two will help you test your knowledge about the rules of the road in Maine, familiarize with the format of the actual exam and learn what it takes to pass the written test. In addition to the written permit test you will also need to take a vision screening test. When you pass these tests and pay the recommended fee you will be issued with your driver’s permit.