30Jun 2015
Jun 30, 2015

What is ‘legally drunk’ in Louisiana?

Driver under the age of 21 years are considered to be legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .02, for non-commercial drivers above 21 years, they are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .08. On the other hand, commercial vehicle drivers are considered to be legally drunk when their blood alcohol concentration is more than .04.

Louisiana Drunk Driving Penalties

For first time offenders, they face the following penalties:

  • A prison sentence from ten days to six months
  • A fine of $300 to $1,000
  • The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is  3 months

For second time offenders within 10 years of the previous conviction, they face:

     

  • A prison term of 1 month to 6 months
  • A fine of $750 to $1,000
  • The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is one year
  • The offender must equip any vehicle he/she use with  an ignition interlock device for at least 6 moths
  • If convicted for the second time and the first offense resulted to injury of death of another, the offender will be imprisoned for at least 5 years, and the fine will increase to $2,000.

For a third time conviction within 10 years of the previous offense, the offender faces:

     

  • A five year jail term, with or without labor
  • A $2,000 fine
  • The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is 2 years

For a fourth or subsequent offense within 10 of the first offense, the offender faces the following penalties:

  • A jail term of 10 to 30 years, with or without labor
  • A fine of $5,000
  • The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is 2 years
  • The vehicle that the driver was using at the time of the offence will be impounded, and sold at auction.

 

The Point System in Louisiana

The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) keeps track of the offenses that drivers are convicted with. Major traffic offenses or too many minor violations can lead to a driver’s license revocation, suspension, driver improvement courses, and fines. Furthermore, it can also lead to increased car insurance premiums.