According to the Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT), driving a vehicle is the most risky activity that teenagers are involved in. As a result the Iowa Department of Transportation implemented a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program. Under the program teens and first time driver’s license applicants must complete certain milestones before they can obtain a driver’s license. The various steps included in the GDL program include obtaining a learner’s permit, taking a Written Learner’s Permit Test and Driver’s ED.
If you are a new Iowa resident and you have an out-of-state learner’s permit, you can transfer it if meets the Iowa’s requirements listed below:
- You must be more than 16 years old
- You have held your out-of-state learner’s permit for more than 6 months
- You have completed an approved Driver’s Ed course
- Your driving record is free from any traffic violations in the last 6 months
- You have completed the required 20 hours of supervised driving while holding your learner’s permit
If you do not meet the requirements you will have to apply for an Iowa learner’s permit.
When you have all the required documents and ready to take the written test, book an appointment with the Iowa DOT and prepare for the test. The written test contains questions that are based on information taken from the Iowa driver’s manual and the main areas that aretested include Iowa driving laws, road signs, driving under the influence, safety rules, traffic signals, parking, and how to enter and exit the freeway.
While preparing for the written test, the Iowa DOT recommends that you go through the driver’s manual which has all the information that will be set in the test. In addition to the driver’s manual, you can also prepare for the test by taking online practice tests.A combination of the two will help you test your knowledge about the rules of the road in Iowa, learn what it takes to pass the written test and familiarize with the format of the actual exam. In addition to the written permit test you will also need to take a vision screening test. When you pass these tests and pay the recommended fee you will be issued with your driver’s permit.