What is ‘legally drunk’ in Iowa?
For drivers under the age of 21, the state considers them to be legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .02, for non-commercial driver above 21 years old; they are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .08. However, for commercial driver, they are considering to be legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .04.
Iowa Drunk Driving Penalties
For first time offenders they face the following penalties:
- A jail term of 2 days to one year
- Payment of a fine not exceeding $1,250
- The revocation period for the offender’s driver’s license is six months to one year.
For second time offenders, they face:
- A prison sentence of 7 days to 1 year
- The offender will be subjected to pay a fine of $1,875 to $6,250
- The revocation period for the offender’s driver’s license is a maximum of two years
For third and subsequent offenders, they face the following penalties:
- A prison sentence of up to 5 years
- The offender will be subjected to pay a fine of $3,225 to $9,375
- The revocation period for the offender’s driver license is a maximum of up to 6 years
Anyone convicted of a DUI offence in Iowa is required to undergo a substance abuse consultation, furthermore the offender may be required to enroll and participate in an education substance abuse prevention program.
Commercial drivers convicted of a DUI offense will face disqualification from operating a commercial vehicle for a period of one year. However, if at the time of the offence the driver was transporting hazardous material, the disqualification period is three years. A commercial driver risks disqualification from driving a commercial vehicle for life if he/she is convicted of a DUI offense twice.
Underage drivers who are convicted of a DUI offense will have their driver’s license revoked in accordance with the laws applicable to adult offenders.
The Point System in Iowa
The Iowa Department of Transportation’s Office of Driver Services in Des Moines awards points and monitors driving records. If you accumulate too many points within a specific period of time the Office of Driver Services may restrict or suspend your driving privileges. In addition you may also face Iowa court/DMV fines, higher car insurance rates and defensive driving requirements. A conviction of driving under the influence of alcohol you can expect 4 points.