Idaho Graduated License
In Idaho, if you are a teenager you have to go through the Idaho Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), graduated driver’s licensing (GDL) program. GDL has several milestones that help you become a more responsible driver. The first step is getting a supervised instruction permit (SIP).
Idaho Learner’s Permit
If you are 17 years and below, you must first apply for a supervised learner’s permit, however, you must be at least 14 ½ years to be eligible. You need to have your SIP before you can begin Driver’s Ed. You can then begin practicing supervised driving until you are eligible for an intermediate driver’s license.
To apply for an Idaho learner’s permit you must visit an ID driver’s license office and provide:
- Proof of your Idaho residency
- Proof of your age and identity (Certified original birth certificate or a U.S. passport).
- Proof of your legal U.S. presence.
- Your Social Security Number.
- Proof of your high school enrollment
- $15 payment for learner’s permit fee and an administrative fee $6.50.
You can drive ONLY with your Driver’s Ed instructor when you obtain learner’s permit. You will be allowed to drive with a licensed driver who is more than 21 years old after you complete driver’s education. Furthermore, you must have your SLP with you and all passengers must wear a seat belt.
NOTE: If you violate any traffic laws or these GDL restrictions, your supervised Idaho learner’s permit will be cancelled. In addition, you will be forced to start the program again by applying for a new SLP.
Idaho Restricted Driver’s License
You can only apply for your Restricted Driver’s License if you meet the following qualifications: you are at least 15 years old, you have had your learner’s permit for at least 6 months without complications from the time you completed driver’s education and you must have completed 50 hours of supervised practice driving, including 10 hours at night.
You do not have to do a written test to obtain your supervised learner’s permit. However, you must pass both a road test and a written test before you obtain your restricted driver’s license.