What is ‘legally drunk’ in Idaho?
For drivers under the age of 21 years, they are considered to be legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .02, for non-commercial drivers above 21 years, the state considers them legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .08. Conversely, for commercial vehicle drivers, they are considered to be legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is more than .04. In Idaho, school bus drivers are commercial drivers.
Idaho Drunk Driving Penalties
For first time DUI offender they face the following penalties when convicted:
- The offender faces up to six months in jail
- He/she is subject to pay a fine of up to $1,000
- The suspension period for the offender’s driver’s license is one month
- The offender’s driving privileges will be suspended for an additional 60 to 150 days, however, he/she may request restricted driving privileges if there is proof that driving is indispensible for family health or employment needs.
For second time offenders convicted within 10 years of their previous conviction, they face:
- Up to one year in prison
- A fine of up to $2,000
- The offender’s driving privileges will be suspended for a minimum period of 12 months after serving the prison sentence.
- The offender will be required to equip all vehicles he/she uses with an ignition interlock system for a period ordered by the sentencing judge.
For offenders convicted of DUI for the third time within 10 years of their previous convictions, they face:
- A jail term of up to 10 years
- A fine not exceeding $5,000
- The offenders driving privileges will be suspended for a maximum of 5 years
- The offender will be required to equip the vehicles he/she uses with an ignition interlock system for the period stated by the sentencing judge.
The Point System in Idaho
Under the Idaho Title 49 Motor Vehicle Code points are assigned for moving violations. The point system is used to track irresponsible drivers. Accumulation of points in your driving record within a specific period of time may lead to suspension of your driver’s license and higher rates of insurance.