What is ‘legally drunk’ in Alaska?
The age of a driver determines how he/she will be considered legally drunk in Alaska. Drivers under the age of 21 years are considered to be legally drunk when a test confirms any alcohol level in their breath or blood, however, if you are 21 years and older you are considered to be legally drunk when your blood alcohol level is more than .08 percent.
- Non-commercial drivers over 21 are considered legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is recorded at .08 or more.
- Commercial drivers are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is recorded at .04 percent or greater.
- Drivers under 21 are legally drunk when a breathalyzer test reveals any alcohol concentration in their blood or breath. This is an all or nothing policy.
Alaska Drunk Driving Penalties
The penalties for drunk driving in Alaska depend with the number of times you have been convicted for D.U.I. For drivers who are below 21 years, the penalty is a $500 fine and 20 to 40 hours of community service for first time offenders. Second time offenders pay a fine of $1,000 and 40 to 60 hours of community service. If you are convicted for more than three times, you must pay a fine of $1,500 and 50 to 80 hours of community service.
If you are more than 21 years old, first time offenders face at least three days in prison and a fine of not less than $1,500. The revocation period for the driver’s license is at least three months. When are convicted of you your second DUI within 15 years of your previous conviction you face a fine of at least $3,000 and 20 days in prison. The revocation period for the driver’s license is at least one year. Basically, the more DUI convictions you get, the tougher the penalties.
The Point System in Alaska
The Alaska DMV has a point system that keeps track of all driving violations. Anytime you are convicted of a traffic violation, the points are entered in your driving record. The severity of the moving violation determines the number of points entered on your driving record. Any DUI conviction carries 10 points, the following are other violation convictions and their point assignments:
- Driving on a revoked or suspended license: 10 points
- Reckless driving: 10 points
- Refusing to take a breathalyzer test: 10 points
- Attempting to evade a police officer: 10 points
- Speed contest/racing: 10 points
- Leaving the scene of an accident: 9 points
- Driving a car without insurance: 6 points
- Negligent driving: 6 points
- Careless driving: 4 points