Alaska’s Driver’s License
The Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires all teen drivers to follow specific guidelines when applying for their first driver’s license. The first step is getting a learner’s permit.
The minimum age required by law to begin each step towards your driver’s license is shown below:
- Learner’s permit: 14 years old.
- Provisional driver’s license: 16 years old.
- Full, unrestricted driver’s license: 18 years old or after having the provisional driver’s license for six months without any violations.
Alaska Learner’s Permits
The Learner’s Permits is basically meant to help the driver gain knowledge and experience needed to become a responsible driver.
- You must be at least 14 years old.
- You must pass a vision test.
- You must pass the written Alaska permit test.
Before you can apply for your provisional driver’s license you must hold your Alaska learner’s permit for 6 months.
NOTE: What you will need to know for you to pass the written knowledge tests can be found in the Alaska Driver’s Manual, you can get a hard copy by visiting a local Driver License Center.
Alaska Provisional License
The following requirements should be considered when applying for your provisional driver’s license:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Have held your learner’s permit for more than 6 months.
- Submit the relevant proof that you have finished 40 hours of supervised driving practice, including at least 10 hours in conditions that are challenging, such as bad weather and night driving.
- Have parental consent.
Unrestricted Driver’s License
You are eligible for an unrestricted driver’s license after holding the provisional license for more than six months or after you turn 18 years old. However, if you decide to upgrade your driver’s license before you turn eighteen years, you will need to:
- Visit an Alaska DMV office with your parent or legal guardian; they will be required to sign a new Parent/Guardian Consent for a Minor.
- Provide your provisional license.
- Pay the duplicate fee to upgrade your driver’s license.
However, if you wait until you turn eighteen years, the provisional driver’s license restrictions will be lifted automatically. To upgrade your driver’s license you will only need to visit an Alaska DMV office, pass the vision exam and pay the replacement fee.