What is ‘legally drunk’ in Alabama?
In Alabama teenagers (below 21 years), drivers of commercial vehicles, school bus and day care drivers are considered drunk legally if their blood alcohol level is more than .02, for non-commercial driver above 21 years old they are considered legally drunk if their blood alcohol level is more than.08.
- Non-commercial drivers age 21+ are considered legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is .08 or more.
- Drivers of commercial vehicles are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is .04 percent or greater.
- School bus and day care drivers are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is greater than .02.
- Drivers under 21 are legally drunk when their blood alcohol level is .02 or more.
Alabama Drunk Driving Penalties
First-time DUI offenders face imprisonment of at least one year and/or a fine between $600 and $2,100. The suspension period for their driver’s license is three months. In addition, the offender will be required to attend a substance abuse program. For second time offenders, within five years of their previous offence, they face imprisonment of up to one year and may include hard labor. The imprisonment sentence includes a mandatory sentence, which is not subjected to probation or suspension, the fine ranges between $1,100 and $5,100 and the revocation period for their driver license is one year.
On the third conviction, the offender faces imprisonment of up to one year, which may include hard labor. The sentence must be at least 3 months. The fine ranges between $2,100 and $10,100 and the revocation period for their driver license is 3 years. On a subsequent conviction, the offender faces imprisonment of between one year to 10 years, a fine that ranges between $4,100 to $10,100 and the revocation period for the driver’s license is 5 years. If a driver is found to have more than 0.15 percent of alcohol in his/her blood, he/she will be sentenced to double the minimum punishment.
The Point System in Alabama
The driving record point system in Alabama serves to keep tract of violations and hold drivers responsible in the event that they are involved in multiple violations. Once you receive a traffic ticket the Alabama Department of Public Safety (DPS) will add the points to your driving record. Driving record points can lead to a revocation, cancellation or suspension of a driver’s license, community service and fines, Alabama DPS reinstatement fees and mandatory completion of a defensive driving course or completion of traffic school. Furthermore, when you have too many record points on your driver license, it can lead to higher car insurance rates.